Tuesday, October 17, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday / Can't-Wait Wednesday #53: Harry Potter - A History of Magic: The Book of the Exhibition

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.



Title: Harry Potter - A History of Magic: The Book of the Exhibition 
Author:  J.K. Rowling
Expected publication: October 20th 2017 
Genres: Fantasy


Harry Potter: A History of Magic is the official book of the exhibition, a once-in-a-lifetime collaboration between Bloomsbury, J.K. Rowling and the brilliant curators of the British Library. It promises to take readers on a fascinating journey through the subjects studied at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry – from Alchemy and Potions classes through to Herbology and Care of Magical Creatures

Each chapter showcases a treasure trove of artefacts from the British Library and other collections around the world, beside exclusive manuscripts, sketches and illustrationsfrom the Harry Potter archive. There’s also a specially commissioned essay for each subject area by an expert, writer or cultural commentator, inspired by the contents of the exhibition – absorbing, insightful and unexpected contributions from Steve Backshall, the Reverend Richard Coles, Owen Davies, Julia Eccleshare, Roger Highfield, SteveKloves, Lucy Mangan, Anna Pavord and Tim Peake – who offer a personal perspective on their magical theme.Readers will be able to pore over ancient spell books, amazing illuminated scrolls that reveal the secret of the elixir of life, vials of dragon’s blood, mandrake roots, paintedcentaurs and a genuine witch’s broomstick, in a book that shows J.K. Rowling’s magical inventions alongside their cultural and historical forebears.This is the ultimate gift for Harry Potter fans, curious minds, big imaginations, bibliophiles and readers around the world who missed out on the chance to see the exhibition in person.


What are you waiting for this Wednesday?  Let us know in the comment section below.

-Shon


 

Monday, October 16, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday #85: Top Ten Yummy Foods Mentioned In Books



Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Yummy Foods Mentioned In Books (Does a character eat something you'd love? Or maybe the book takes place in a bakery/restaurant that makes yummy things? You could also talk about 10 of your favorite cookbooks if you don't read foody books.)




Shon's Picks
OR
Food & Drinks from the Potter Universe
OR
Food & Drink I Get Every Time I Go Universal Studios Hollywood The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

  • Bertie Bott's Every Flavor Beans
  • Chocolate Frogs
  • Pumpkin juice
  • Butterbeer
  • Gillywater
  • Fizzing Whizzbees
  • Fudge Flies
  • Exploding Bonbons
  • Pudding
  • Beef Sunday Roast* 
 *Three Broomsticks at Universal Studios Hollywood

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday / Can't-Wait Wednesday #52: Into the Bright Unknown

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.



Title: Into the Bright Unknown (The Gold Seer Trilogy #3) 
Author: Rae Carson 
Expected publication: October 10th 2017 
Genres:Fantasy, Young Adult, Historical Fiction


The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.

Leah Westfall, her fiancé Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion. Includes a map and an author’s note.


What are you waiting for this Wednesday?  Let us know in the comment section below.

-Shon


 

Monday, October 9, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday #84: Ten Books With Fall/Autumn Covers/Themes



Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Ten Books With Fall/Autumn Covers/Themes (If the cover screams fall to you, or the books give off a feeling of being Fallish)


Shon's pick


Orange books always give me fallish feels.


The Final Descent by Rick Yancey

Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes 

Half Lost by Sally Green

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Shon's Must Read Fall Book Recommendations

5. Harry Potter series 
6. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
7. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
8. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness by Ransom Riggs 
9. Caraval by Stephanie Garber
10. Six of Crows by Leigh Barburgo

Monday Reviews: Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen





Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen Published April 1st 2014 by Strange Chemistry
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Paranormal
Page: 469
Rating:
5
of 5 stars
Review by: Tina




Synopsis

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse.
Cécile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time…
But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for...
But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for...


Thoughts

This book came highly recommended by many YA book bloggers and I wasn't sure about a story on "trolls" and to my amazement, this is a delightfully fun read! There wasn't a scene when my heart didn't race in excitement.
 

What I Liked
What I enjoyed most from this book are the characters. They are relatable, warm, and well developed. They make you care about their problems and you ache to help them. My second favorite is the captivating story telling. The writing is action packed and full of drama and intrigue. The plans were well thought out and you just want to root for the prince; you want him to get the girl, see him defeat his father, wish for him to see his plans come to fruition.


What I Did Not Like
I cringed a little at the ending. It felt rushed and lacked creativity. If it could stretch a few more pages... if the plans for the second book is hinted a little more in the last few pages...

Overall

This book made me very happy. Truly elated. This is how a true fantasy should be. It is exciting. Refreshing. Full of possibilities. I'm looking forward to more works from Danielle L. Jensen. Astounding story writer!



Tuesday, October 3, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday / Can't-Wait Wednesday #51: Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.



Title: Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View 
Author: by Ben Acker, Renee Ahdieh, Tom Angleberger, Ben Blacker, Jason Fry, Christie Golden, Ashley Eckstein, Mur Lafferty 
Expected publication: October 3rd 2017 
Genres: Star Wars


In celebration of Star Wars’ 40th anniversary, Del Rey is going to shine the spotlight on those unsung weirdos, heroes, and villains with a unique, new anthology. Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View, coming October 2017, will bring together more than 40 authors for 40 stories. Each will be told from the perspective of background characters of A New Hope — from X-wing pilots who helped Luke destroy the Death Star to the stormtroopers who never quite could find the droids they were looking for.  


What are you waiting for this Wednesday?  Let us know in the comment section below.

-Shon



Monday, October 2, 2017

Top Ten Tuesday #83: Top Ten Book Boyfriends


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Book Boyfriends (Which characters do you have crushes on?)

Shon's Top 5 Book Boyfriends:


Peeta, The Hunger Games

Dimitri Belikov, Vampire Academy

Wesley "Wes" Rush, The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Jonathan Christopher "Jace" Morgenstern/Lightwood/Herondale, The Mortal Instruments Series


Dean Di Laurentis, The Score by Elle Kennedy 

Wendy's Top 5 Book Boyfriends:

Four, Divergent

Christian Grey, Fifty Shades

 
Adrian Ivashkov, Bloodline 


Alec Lightwood, The Mortal Instruments Series

 Reed Royal, The Royals Series by Erin Watt