Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Can't-Wait Wednesday / Waiting on Wednesday #101

Title: Need for Speed (The Elite #2)
Author: Ella Frank, Brooke Blaine
Expected Publication: March 27, 2020
Genres: M/M Romance


Need for Speed is the continuation of Solo and Panther’s story and should only be read after book one, Danger Zone.

They train to serve their country.
They strive to be the best.
But only a select few can be...
The Elite


* * *

MATEO MORGAN
CALL SIGN: SOLO


Reckless, arrogant, and bold, Solo is as known in the U.S. Navy for his bad-boy reputation as he is for his skills as a fighter pilot. It’s a surprise to his peers, then, when he’s chosen to train and compete at the most prestigious naval aviation academy in the world.

MISSION RULES:
1. Kick everyone’s ass.
2. Do whatever it takes to win.
3. Do your best to distract the competition.
4. Especially when that competition is a gorgeous blue-eyed perfectionist who makes your blood run hot.


* * *

GRANT HUGHES
CALL SIGN: PANTHER


Disciplined, smart, and confident, Panther can’t afford not to play by the rules. As the son of a top Navy commander, all eyes are on him, and being anything less than number one is unacceptable.

MISSION RULES:
1. Keep it safe in the air.
2. Prove you’re more than Commander Hughes’s son.
3. No distractions. Stay focused.
4. Don’t fall for your competition—especially not the rebellious heartbreaker with lips made for sinning.


In the heat of the hot California sun, tempers flare and desires ignite as Solo and Panther try to resist their attraction while fighting to be number one.
With passion this intense, the question remains:
Who’s gonna come out on top?


What are you waiting for this Wednesday? Let us know in the comment section below.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Can't-Wait Wednesday / Waiting on Wednesday #100

Title: If I Never Met You
Author: Mhairi McFarlane
Expected Publication: March 24, 2020
Genres: Romance, Contemporary


Bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

If faking love is this easy... how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome fake boyfriend...


What are you waiting for this Wednesday? Let us know in the comment section below.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.




Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Can't-Wait Wednesday / Waiting on Wednesday #99

Title: Undercover Bromance (Bromance Book Club #2)
Author: Lyssa Kay Adams
Expected Publication: March 10, 2020

Genres: Romance, Contemporary

Braden Mack thinks reading romance novels makes him an expert in love, but he’ll soon discover that real life is better than fiction.

Liv Papandreas has a dream job as a sous chef at Nashville’s hottest restaurant. Too bad the celebrity chef owner is less than charming behind kitchen doors. After she catches him harassing a young hostess, she confronts him and gets fired. Liv vows revenge, but she’ll need assistance to take on the powerful chef.

Unfortunately, that means turning to Braden Mack. When Liv’s blackballed from the restaurant scene, the charismatic nightclub entrepreneur offers to help expose her ex-boss, but she is suspicious of his motives. He’ll need to call in reinforcements: the Bromance Book Club.

Inspired by the romantic suspense novel they’re reading, the book club assist Liv in setting up a sting operation to take down the chef. But they’re just as eager to help Mack figure out the way to Liv’s heart… even while she’s determined to squelch the sparks between them before she gets burned.


What are you waiting for this Wednesday? Let us know in the comment section below.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.

Wednesday, March 4, 2020

Can't-Wait Wednesday / Waiting on Wednesday #98

Title: Darling Rose Gold
Author: Stephanie Wrobel
Expected Publication: March 17, 2020
Genres: Mystery, Thriller

For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold.

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar.

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere to go and begs her daughter to take her in. The entire community is shocked when Rose Gold says yes.

Patty insists all she wants is to reconcile their differences. She says she's forgiven Rose Gold for turning her in and testifying against her. But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty Watts always settles a score.

Unfortunately for Patty, Rose Gold is no longer her weak little darling...

And she's waited such a long time for her mother to come home.



What are you waiting for this Wednesday? Let us know in the comment section below.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking The Spine.

Monday, March 2, 2020

Manic Monday #15: Intimidating TBR Book Tag

I discovered this tag on PeruseProject YouTube channel.  So many big books on my TBR.  Let's get started!

1) What book have you been unable to finish?
A: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy #1-10) by Cassandra Clare

2) What book have you yet to read because you just haven't had the time?
A: The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2) by Rick Riordan

3) What book have you yet to read because it's a sequel?
A: Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

4) What book have you yet to read because it's brand new?
A: The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

5) What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn't enjoy it?
A: Any books by Penelope Douglas, Stephenie Meyer and Sarah J. Maas

6) What book have you yet to read because you're just not in the mood for it?
A: The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cinda Williams Chima

7) What book have you yet to read because it's humongous?
A: The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

8) What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?
A: Black City (Black City #1) by Elizabeth Richards

9) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?
A: Queen of Air and Darkness (The Dark Artifices #3) by Cassandra Clare


Sunday, March 1, 2020

Shon's March 2020 TBR


Hello Bookworms & Happy March!!!

A new month means a new stack of books to be read!  After not reading as many books as I had planed to read last month, I have decided to do things a little different this month.  And by different I mean crazy.  For the month of March I'm doing I like BIG BOOKS and I cannot lie TBR!  So my very overly ambitious TBR for the month, is to read only books with 400+ pages.  Like I said crazy.




Here is my list thus far:

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers
The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss
We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal
Truly Devious (Truly Devious #1) by Maureen Johnson*
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness*
* not pictured

What are some of the books are looking forward to reading this month?

xoxo,
Shon


Saturday, February 29, 2020

Shon's February Wrap Up



Discord (Iron Heretics MC #0.5) by Michelle Frost


Rocket Science (Love Logic #1) by K.M. Neuhold


Intercepted (Playbook #1) by Alexa Martin


Her Russian Defender (International Legacies #5) by Camilla Stevens



Gunnar (Hell's Ankhor #2) by Aiden Bates, Ali Lyda


Devilry (King University #2) by Marley Valentine


Fake It 'til You Make Out (Love & Luck #1) by Isla Olsen


Brighter Shades of Light by Jaclyn Osborn

Danger Zone (The Elite #1) by Brooke Blaine, Ella Frank



Disrupt (Iron Heretics MC #1) by Michelle Frost



February was an okay reading month.  I did not read as many books as I had plan to read.  I kind of astray from my TBR, I might have been a little distracted by all the pretty covers.

Not my best but definitely not my worse reading month.  I read 10 books this month.  I'm not mad about that. I am still a couples books ahead of Goodreads reading challenge.

How was your month? What books did you read and add to your collection?

xoxo,
Shon